Skip links

Other Minds Records produces a select catalog of contemporary music exploring areas seldom touched upon by mainstream institutions. We release new works by contemporary and 20th Century composers. We also re-release selected recordings of exceptional value that are hard to find or otherwise unavailable. Making this music accessible to the public is an integral part of our mission, and the proceeds from the sales are used to further our work as new music archivists and advocates. The Other Minds Records catalog is distributed through The Business, Soundohm, Shame File Music, and AudioMoves.

Our Latest Release

Samuel Adams Current CD cover

Samuel Adams: Current

Current features a collection of works for strings and piano by Samuel Adams. The title work, Current, scored for string quartet and resonating snare drums, is performed by the Spektral Quartet, which co-commissioned the piece with Cal Performances; this album marks one of the group’s last projects as an ensemble. At the 2022 premiere in Berkeley, the San Francisco Chronicle called Current “a superbly inviting meditation on our old friends harmony, rhythm and rhetoric,” adding that the work represents “a powerfully precise convergence of ambition and means.” Bookending that large-scale work are Violin Diptych, performed by violinist Karen Gomyo and pianist Conor Hanick, and Shade Studies, a piano solo performed by Hanick with electronics.

Upcoming Releases

Tom Bickley Jepson Prairie

Tom Bickley: Jepson Prairie
Available October 6, 2023 as a CD and Digital Download

Coming soon, long-time Bay Area composer and organizer Tom Bickley presents a suite of recent works for field recordings and electronics. Including soundscapes from sources as varied as restored wetlands outside of Bickley’s hometown of Houston, Texas, a train station in Kyoto, Japan, and construction sounds from the composer’s current home of Berkeley, California


Thollem, Terry Riley, Nels Cline: The Light is Real

More information coming soon!

All Other Minds Releases

Close Search

Start typing and press Enter to search