Skip links

Program 677: Percussion Music

KALW Broadcast Date: December 5, 2021 | Host: Ed Herrmann

Featured on the program

1. William Winant Percussion Group
Lou Harrison
Song of Quetzalcoatl  from “Drums Along the Pacific”

2. Tim Daisy
Construction House Pt 4 from “New Works for Solo Percussion”

3. Chris Corsano
The Four Apprentices Cut

4. Gerard McDonnell
bodhrán solo

5. Robyn Schulkowsky
Percussion Songs No. 2 and No. 7  from Wolff Percussion Songs

6. ST-X Ensemble
Xenakis Rebonds b from Xenakis Ensemble Music volume 1

7. Ustad Tabib Hussain
tabla solo from Music in the World of Islam vol. 6 “Drums”

8. William Winant Percussion Group
Lou Harrison
Simfony #13 from Drums Along the Pacific

9. Third Coast Percussion
Steve Reich
Sextet Mov. 5 (Fast)

10. Les Percussions de Strasbourg
Pléiades Mov. 2 Métaux

Hour 2

12. Hamid Drake & Michael Zerang
For Ed Blackwell

13. Les Percussions de Strasbourg
Pléiades Mov. 3 Claviers

14. Tribute to Alvin Lucier

Program Audio

30-Second Spot

Track Info & Links

Title: Just Twisted
Composer: Sylvie Courvoisier
Performers: Sylvie Courvoisier, piano; Drew Gress, bass; Kenny Wollesen, drums
Recording Title: Free Hoops (2020)
Record Label: Intakt Records
Catalog Number: CD 351


Title: Faceless Smears, Mind Out of Time
Composers: Mary Halvorson, Sylvie Courvoisier, piano
Performers: Mary Halvorson, guitar; Sylvie Courvoisier, piano
Recording Title: Searching For the Disappeared Hour (2021)
Record Label: Pyroclastic Records
Catalog Number: PR 17


Title: Poof
Composer: Henry Threadgill
Performers: Henry Threadgill – alto saxophone, flute, bass flute; Liberty Ellman – acoustic guitar; Jose Davila – tuba, trombone; Christopher Hoffman – cello; Elliot Humberto Kavee – drums
Recording Title: Poof (2021)
Record Label: Pi Recordings
Catalog Number: PI92


Title: Americana / The Garden Waits For You To Match Her Wilderness
Composer: Ambrose Akinmusire
Performers: Drums, Computer – Marcus Gilmore; Piano, Keyboards – Sam Harris; Saxophone – Walter Smith III; Strings – MIVOS Quartet; Vocals – Kool A.D.; Words, Trumpet, Whistle, Keyboards – Ambrose Akinmusire
Recording Title: Origami Harvest (2018)
Record Label: Blue Note
Catalog Number: B002866202


Title: Keys to Creation
Composer: Irreversible Entanglements
Performers: Camae Ayewa – voice; Keir Neuringer – saxophone; Aquiles Navarro – trumpet; Luke Stewart – bass; Tcheser Holmes – drums
Recording Title: Open The Gates (2021)
Record Label: International Anthem
Catalog Number: IARC0049


Titles: The Catch of a Ghost, Almost With the Sun, Sound That Shimmers
Composers: Peter Brötzmann, Maâlem Moukhtar Gania, Hamid Drake
Performers: Peter Brötzmann tenor saxophone, tarogato; Maâlem Moukhtar Gania guembri, voice; Hamid Drake drums
Recording Title: The Catch of a Ghost (2020)
Record Label: I Dischi Di Angelica
Catalog Number: IDA 041


Titles: Elephant Hangover
Composers: Sarathy Korwar & Upaj Collective
Performers: Sarathy Korwar – Drums; Tamar Osborn – Saxophone; Achuthan Sripathamanathan – Violin; Giuliano Modarelli – Guitar; Alistair MacSween – Keys
Recording Title: Night Dreamer Direct-to-Disc Sessions (2020)
Record Label: Night Dreamer
Catalog Number: ND004

Ben Lamar Gay
Close Search

Start typing and press Enter to search