Skip links

Program 556: Jazz on the Edge

KALW Broadcast Date: April 19, 2019 | Host: Mark Abramson

On this Music from Other Minds, a program dedicated to the experimental spirit of jazz now and in the past. The program celebrates the new innovations happening in jazz today, as well as the experimental jazz artists that paved the way for this younger generation of composers and performers.

Program Audio

30-Second Spot

Track Info & Links

Title: Jump Off, Theme 001, Meanwhile, Theme 002
Composer: Jaimie Branch
Performers: Jaimie Branch, trumpet; Tomeka Reid, cello; Jason Ajemian, bass; Chad Taylor, drums; Matt Schneider, guitar; Ben Lamar Gay, cornet; Josh Berman, cornet
Recording Title: Fly or Die (2017)
Record Label: International Anthem Recording Co.
Catalog Number: IARC0011


Title: Focus on Sanity
Composer: Ornette Coleman
Performers: Ornette Coleman. alto saxophone; Don Cherry, cornet; Charlie Hayden, bass; Billy Higgins, drums
Recording Title: Beauty is a Rare Thing – The Complete Atlantic Recordings (1993)
Record Label: Rhino Records
Catalog Number: 0081227956196


Title: E.B.
Composer: Cecil Taylor
Performers: Cecil Taylor, piano; Buell Neidlinger, bass; Denis Charles, drums
Recording Title: The Complete Collection 1956-1962 (1993)
Record Label: Enlightenment
Catalog Number: EN5CD9018


Title: End of the Tunnel, Poles
Composer: Vijay Iyer
Performers: Vijay Iyer – piano & Fender Rhodes; Graham Haynes – cornet, flugelhorn, electronics; Steve Lehman – alto saxophone; Mark Shim – tenor saxophone; Stephan Crump – double bass; Tyshawn Sorey – drums
Recording Title: Far From Over (2017)
Record Label: ECM Records
Catalog Number: ECM 2581


Title: Contemplating Tranquility
Composer: Tyshawn Sorey
Performers: Tyshawn Sorey, drums; Cory Smythe, piano and electronics; Christopher Tordini, bass
Recording Title: Verisimilitude (2017)
Record Label: Pi Recordings
Catalog Number: P170

Close Search

Start typing and press Enter to search