Skip links

Program 611: Composer Submissions

KALW Broadcast Date: July 31, 2020 | Host: Liam Herb

On this Music from Other Minds program, Liam Herb featured music submitted by composers from around the globe. The program is composed of works by Jay Williams (GA), Bruno Liberda (Austria), Stephen Ruppenthal (CA), Michael Pisaro (CA), Orlando Jacinto Garcia (FL), Alvin Curran (Rome), Robert Worby (UK), and Stéphane Borrel (France).

This was such a special program for me to produce. I was completely blown away at the number of composers who contacted me and the quality of the work that I was sent. By no means was two hours enough time to do justice to even a fraction of the work I was sent but below you’ll find my best attempt. Thanks to everyone who submitted! -Liam Herb

Program Audio

30-Second Spot

Track Info & Links

Title: A Gamelan in the Distance
Composer: Orlando Jacinto Garcia
Performers: Chen-Hui Jen
Recording Title: N/A
Record Label: N/A
Catalog Number: N/A


Title: Not so Silent Night based off the poetry of W.B. Yeats (2019)
Composer: Jay Williams
Performers: N/A
Recording Title: N/A
Record Label: N/A
Catalog Number: N/A


Title: A Sphere of Air is Bound
Composer: Bruno Liberda
Performers: Bruno Liberda, Electronics; Stephen Ruppenthal, trumpet and voice
Recording Title: Flamethrower
Record Label: Ravello Records
Catalog Number: B01MSEFHHR


Title: Containment Etudes
Composer: Alvin Curran
Performers: Alvin Curran
Recording Title: N/A
Record Label: N/A
Catalog Number: N/A


Title: Three pieces from Anthology of Laughter
Composer: Stéphane Borrel
Performers: N/A
Recording Title: N/A
Record Label: N/A
Catalog Number: N/A


Title: July Mountain (California Version)
Composer: Michael Pisaro
Performers: Michael Pisaro, Greg Stuart
Recording Title: July Mountain (Three Versions)
Record Label: Gravity Wave
Catalog Number: GW 002


Title: Factitious Airs Parts 1 and 2
Composer: Robert Worby
Performers: Robert Worby
Recording Title: Factitious Airs
Record Label: Persistence of Sound
Catalog Number: PS002


Title: Sonare
Composer: Cenk Ergün
Performers: JACK Quartet
Recording Title: Sonare & Celare
Record Label: New Focus Recordings
Catalog Number: fcr238

Makaya McCraven, photo by David Marques
Close Search

Start typing and press Enter to search