OM Festivals OM Festivals
Special Events Special Events
Archive Archive
Special Features Special Features
Record Label
Web Radio Web Radio
About Other Minds About Other Minds
Get Involved Get Involved
Contact Us
Home Page
Search site for:



Other Minds Composer Fellowship 2011

Fellowship 2011
Photo © John Fago

We've added a special event this year in partnership with Meridian Gallery: emerging composers Nicholas Chase, Lisa Coons, Ben Hjertmann, and Zibuokle Martinaityte were chosen from over 100 applicants from across the globe to participate in a special 8-day residency. As OM Fellows they will participate in a series of events including lecture-presentations, panel discussions, workshops, and seminars, and have the opportunity to pick the brains of all of this year's featured composers. The experience will culminate in this concert featuring new works by all four composers, performed by the Other Minds and Navitas Ensembles.

Tickets are extremely limited for this special concert.
Reserve your seats by calling (415) 934-8134 or email to:

The Fellowship includes the following:

Workshops and Performance: A concert presented by Other Minds on Wednesday, March 2, 2011, will include one work by each of the OM Fellows, performed by the Other Minds or Navitas Ensembles. The Ensemble will workshop compositions in open rehearsals with Fellows; Fellows will also participate in a public panel discussion as part of the concert presentation. Panel and performance recordings will be provided to the Fellows and made available as part of the Other Minds Archive on

Other Minds Festival: Fellows will have frequent contact with OM Festival composers and musicians, through observation of the OM Festival Residency, roundtable discussions, and informal gatherings. Fellows will be invited to observe onstage dress rehearsals for all mainstage Festival concerts, and receive free admission to all Festival events. Artists featured at the 2011 Other Minds Festival will include:

Louis Andriessen
I Wayan Balawan
Han Bennink
Kyle Gann
Janice Giteck
David A. Jaffe
Jason Moran
Agata Zubel

Other participating artists include Trimpin, Sarah Cahill, Fred Frith, Monica Germino, Andrew Schloss, Cristina Zavalloni, Seattle Chamber Players, Bandwagon and Del Sol String Quartet.

Seminars: Each Fellow will discuss his/her music in private workshops with the other Fellows, in 1-hour sessions moderated by Other Minds staff. Fellows will also discuss their works in a roundtable discussion with OM Festival Artists, and observe private discussions of the OM Festival Residency.

Honorarium: Other Minds Composer Fellows will receive a $500 honorarium for their participation, free admission to all Other Minds Festival concerts, and audio recordings of the Fellowship concert performance. Fellows will be responsible for their own transportation, housing, and meals. Fellows are expected to participate in all scheduled residency events.